When People Don’t Honor Your Body Boundaries

Ask Wendy: Dating, Sex & Relationship Advice for the Bold

Wendy Newman
3 min readMar 10, 2023
Photo by Andrik Langfield on Unsplash

Hey Wendy,

My boyfriend likes to touch my private areas when we’re not sexually intimate. When I ask him to stop he responds with either “shh” or “I’m not touching your private areas,” even though clearly, he is.

When I attempt to force his hand away, he will grab harder and sometimes tries to pull the area. When I told him that it’s an infringement of my privacy, if we are hugging at the time he will push my face away and respond “hugging you is also an infringement of my privacy.”

I’m lost and I really don’t know what to do.

Amanda N.

___

Hey Amanda,

Just because our ex-POTUS grabs women by the pussy, it doesn’t make it okay.

Your boyfriend’s behavior is not okay. In fact, it’s straight-up harassment.

We could be talking about any part of your body here, even your elbow. If you don’t like to be touched when it’s not lovemaking time, that’s your choice.

Your body, your choice.

When you’ve set limits and expressed what’s acceptable and what’s not, and he’s still overriding your boundaries, that…

--

--

Wendy Newman

Dating, Sex & Relationship Expert and Author of 121 First Dates (Simon & Schuster). Over 80,000 women trust Wendy’s advice, tools, & experience. WendySpeaks.com